Scholarships and Awards

Susan Ann Smith Mills Memorial Award

The Susan Ann Smith Mills Award was established in 1987 by Susan Mills' uncle and aunt to commemorate her life and dedication to research. The award recognizes outstanding graduate students conducting research in the biomedical science area and is based on their accomplishments and research credentials. Learn more.

Best Seminar Award

Each year, one MS and one Ph.D. SVMBS graduate student will receive a $100 award for the best seminar. Recipients are chosen by peer graduate students. No application is needed. This award is open only to SVMBS students.


The sole purpose of CRWAD (Center for Research Workers in Animal Diseases) is to discuss and disseminate the most current research advances in animal diseases. There is an annual meeting each December where research scientists from around the world present their recent research in oral or poster presentation formats. SVMBS will assist with the travel expense for those who are presenting at CRWAD. Contact the School office, VBS 120, for more information. This award is open only to SVMBS students.

Larrick/Whitmore Travel Fund

The Larrick/Whitmore Research Travel Funds Program provides funding toward graduate student travel expenses for students who are presenting the results of their research and/or scholarly activity.

In accordance with the donor's instructions, the Whitmore funds will support graduate student travel to professional society meetings in the fields of animal science; agricultural leadership, education and communication; and veterinary and biomedical sciences. In addition, the Larrick funds will support all other fields related to agricultural research.

Students may only receive one travel grant per degree program (one for M.S. and one for Ph.D.). The funds received (maximum award, $500) can be applied to travel related expenses including registration fees, transportation charges not to exceed coach class airfare, lodging and meals.

Applications must submitted to ARD by the SVMBS office; therefore, applications must be received by the SVMBS office, 120 VBS, one week prior to the ARD deadlines listed below.

For travel in June and after, the ARD deadline is April 30 (applications due in SVMBS office, 120 VBS, by April 23)
For travel in October and after, the ARD deadline is August 31 (applications due in SVMBS office, 120 VBS, by August 24)
For travel in February or after, the ARD deadline is the first work day in January (applications due in SVMBS office, 120 VBS, by December 15)

Download Application (PDF)

Milton E. Mohr Scholarship

The Milton E. Mohr Awards Program recognizes outstanding students in the sciences of biotechnology and engineering based on their academic performance and potential for accomplishments in their specific field. The scholarships and fellowships are awarded each spring and are made possible through an endowment to the University Foundation.

Dr. Mohr was described in his lifetime as ", inventor, entrepreneur, corporate leader" and was instrumental in providing key leadership to young adults. In 1938 he graduated, highest in his class, from University of Nebraska–Lincoln with a bachelor of science degree in electrical engineering and in 1959 the university awarded him an honorary doctorate of engineering.

Applications are accepted during a specified time in the spring. Students are notified when applications are being accepted and can pick up the forms at the School office, VBS 120, or request that the forms be emailed to them.