Veterinary Diagnostic Center dedication and open house

The entrance to the new Nebraska Veterinary Diagnostic Center


Celebrate with us the grand opening of the new Nebraska Veterinary Diagnostic Center (VDC) from 3 to 5 p.m. on Friday, June 9.

The new facility provides nearly four times more space than the former center and state-of-the-art laboratories and interactive spaces. The new VDC will provide improved laboratory services for veterinarians and Nebraska livestock owners, and it will also enhance the learning experiences of students in the Professional Program in Veterinary Medicine.

“With our new interactive spaces, we’ve created a state-of-the-art space for our students to study as well as gain hands-on veterinary experience,” said Alan Doster, the center’s director.

The center will continue to do research and offer necropsy, histopathology, virology, bacteriology, serology, toxicology and limited clinical pathology services. The increased space and new state-of-the art equipment, such as the new MALDI-TOF technology, will enable the center to more quickly and accurately diagnose disease causing organisms.

The old center was built in 1975 and is insufficient to meet modern needs and biosecurity requirements. Recognizing the state’s need for a new center, the Nebraska Legislature committed $40.6 million in funding through the Building a Healthier Nebraska initiative announced in 2012 with $4.1 million required in private donations.

In leading the private fundraising initiative, agriculture business owners Dennis and Glenda Boesiger of Lincoln provided a gift of $500,000 to the University of Nebraska for the new center. Another major gift of $757,000 was received from an anonymous donor in Kansas. Other major gifts to the NU Foundation publicly announced during the building initiative include gifts from Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Farm Credit Services of America, and the Nebraska Cattlemen Association and its affiliates. Gifts were also received from various other supporting organizations and individuals.

“The Veterinary Diagnostic Center is a great public-private partnership that will serve the needs of all of Nebraska. This project was made possible by the generous support of the Nebraska Legislature, industry partners like the Nebraska Cattlemen and private donors. It represents what is possible when the legislature, commodity groups and the university work together for the benefit of our state,” Doster said.

The VDC is located on East Campus at 4040 East Campus Loop N, and parking is available in adjacent lots. The schedule for the open house includes remarks from special guests at 3:30 p.m. followed by tours from 4-5 p.m. Parking is available near the building or along the East Campus Loop.

New equipment at VDC speeds response to animal diseases

Kara Robbins and Dustin Loy discuss bacteria samples tested in new equipment at the VDC
Kara Robbins and Dustin Loy discuss bacteria samples tested in new equipment at the VDC

New equipment is allowing researchers at the Nebraska Veterinary Diagnostic Center to identify potentially deadly bacteria in a matter of minutes — a process that previously took days.

Read more

Grad students Krishnan and Basavalingappa receive awards

Photo of Govardhan Rathnaiah, Bharathi Krishnan, Clayton Kelling and Rakesh Basavalingappa
(l-r) Govandhan Rathnaiah; Bharathi Krishnan; Dr. Clayton Kelling, SVMBS director; and Rakesh Basavalingappa

Our congratulations go out to three SVMBS graduate students who recently received awards.

Bharathi Krishnan was presented the Widaman Distinguished Graduate Assistant Award. This award provides a $2,000 stipend and recognizes those of high scholastic merit who are involved in basic research in agriculture. The award is made possible by the Widaman Trust, established in 1975 through a generous gift from Ms. Blanche Widaman.

Bharathi is pursuing a Ph.D. Her specialization is immunology, molecular biology, proteins and in vivo disease models in mice. She is advised by Dr. Jay Reddy.

Rakesh Basavalingappa received the Shear-Miles Agricultural Scholarship and Fellowship. The award provides a $2,000 stipend to graduate students conducting either basic or applied research. The Shear-Miles award was established through a gift from the estate of Dorothy S. Miles as a memorial to both her father and father-in-law, Cornelius Lott Shear and George Miles.

Govardhan Rathnaiah was awarded the Milton E. Mohr Fellowship in the amount of $3,000. The fellowship is named in honor of Milton E. Mohr, who was an engineer, inventor, entrepreneur and corporate leader. It is award to those pursuing studies in a number of areas, including Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences.

Fellowship Awarded to 52 Veterinary Students

Photo of the recipients of the J. J. Ogle Fellowship

Congratulations to our veterinary students in the Professional Program in Veterinary Medicine. All received a J.J. and Eleanor Ogle Fellowship. The fellowships were presented at the 2016 Distinguished Fellowships and Awards Luncheon held in November.


Heidi Black
Chelsea Burr
Lucas Champoux
Joseph Christen
Aaron Colwell
Shelby Conklin
Kevin Curran
Bernard Eilerts
Caleb Engel
Lucia Finocchiaro
Dominic Gentile
Ryan Grafel
Rachael Granville
Tiffany Haney
Leah Keralis
Jordan Kershner
Tanner Kremke
Anna Kuhl

Elizabeth Kurth
McKenzie Leu
Brittney Lewis
LaNae Maxson
Jessica McManigal
Molly McWilliams
Cameron Menard
Haden Mikesell
Elizabeth Milan
Adelynn Mueller
Makala Muller
Katelin Nelson
Christina Novak
Meghan O’Callaghan
Joshua Payne
Zong Peng
Emily Plock
Kocy Pritschau

Ashley Quinn
Jenna Rifer
Samuel Rogge
Alexandra Rommelfanger
Nadine Rowen
Nicholas Schmit
Mackenzie Schneekloth
Kellie Sholes
Ericka Spangler
Kara Sutphen
Lyndee Talbitzer
Brianna Teel
Amanda Thaler
Christine Thibodeau
Glen Thomas
Hannah Yelinek

Pickard named AAAS fellow

Photo of Dr. Pickard in his office

Congratulations to Dr. Gary Pickard, professor in the School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, who has been named fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world's largest general scientific society. Fellows are selected by their peers for scientifically or socially distinguished achievements that advance science or its application.

Dr. Pickard was selected for distinguished contributions to neuroscience, especially for describing neuroanatomical circuitry in the mammalian brain and using viral probes for tracing circuitry within the circadian system.

He is one of five UNL faculty members to receive the honor this year. Honorees will be formally recognized Feb. 18, 2017, at the AAAS annual meeting in Boston.

Read more about Dr. Pickard's research.