Susan Ann Smith Mills Memorial Award

The Susan Ann Smith Mills Fund was established in 1987 by Susan Mills' uncle and aunt to commemorate her life and dedication to research. Mills worked in the Veterinary Diagnostic Center and in research areas within the School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences. She earned a Master of Science through the School.

The award recognizes outstanding graduate students conducting research in the biomedical science area and is based on their accomplishments and research credentials. Applications are accepted for the Susan Ann Smith Mills Award each year after the spring term is completed. The award is announced in July.

Award criteria

Graduate students must meet the following criteria to be considered:

  • Must be full-time student
  • Qualifying materials on research credential should emphasize work that has been conducted in the School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
  • Students should have presented at least one graduate student seminar in the the School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences
  • Student must have been the presenting author, poster or oral, at a national meeting prior to June 30 of the year in which the application is submitted
  • Student must have a manuscript, as first author, accepted in a peer-review journal (evidence of acceptance, such as a letter from the Journal Office, is required, and must describe the research carried out in the School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences)
  • GPA equal or greater than 3.5
  • Cannot have received the award previously


An application form may be downloaded or picked up at the School office, 120 VBS.

Application deadline

Applications must be received by June 30. (If June 30 falls on a weekend, applications will be due the following Monday.)

Send completed application to:

Susan Ann Smith Mills Award
120 VBS
P.O. Box 830905
Lincoln, NE 68583-0905

   Past recipients of the Susan Ann Smith Mills Award

  2020: Ninaad Lasrado
  2018: Arun Saravanakumar Annamalai
  2017: Bharathi Krishnan Yalaka and Rakesh Basavalingappa
  2016: Insun Kook
  2015: Zachary Stromberg
  2014: Anshuman Das
  2012: Arunakumar Gangaplara
  2011: Chandirasegaran Massilamany
  2010: Lalit Beura
  2009: Jeff Ondrak and Yefel Zhu
  2008: Joseph Erume
  2007: Gustavo Bretschneider
  2006: Dhammika Navarathna
  2005: Sandra Perez
  2004: Rohana Dassanayake